Latest News

NI Human Rights Commission pays tribute to outgoing Chief Commissioner

31 Oct 2013

The NIHRC has praised the major contribution of the Chief Commissioner’ Professor Michael O’Flaherty to human rights work in Northern Ireland. Professor O’Flaherty steps down today from the role of Chief Commissioner.
The Commission also confirmed that Mr John Corey will act as the Interim Chair of the NIHRC until a new Chief Commissioner is appointed by the Secretary of State.
Mr Corey said: “Over the last two years Michael O’Flaherty has made a very major contribution to the work of the Human Rights Commission. His unique experience and expertise in human rights have enabled the Commission to develop a clear vision and programme of work to advance human rights for every person in Northern Ireland.
“Commissioners and staff will continue to fulfil this programme of work while liaising with the Secretary of State to appoint a new Chief Commissioner.”
Professor O’Flaherty said: “The Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission is a remarkable institution that champions the human rights of everyone in society’ but especially of the most vulnerable and marginalised. The Commission is implementing a clear plan of action that is based on the human rights commitments freely entered into by the UK.
“It has been an honour and pleasure for me to serve the Commission since 2011. I have every confidence in the continued effectiveness of the Commission under the interim leadership of John Corey and with the appointment of a new Chief Commissioner.”
Further information:
For further information please contact Alice Neeson on:’ (028) 9024 3987 (office)’ 0771 7731873 (mobile).
Notes to editors
1. The Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission is an independent statutory body first proposed in the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement (1998) and established in 1999 by the Northern Ireland Act (1998). It is answerable to Parliament at Westminster
2. John Corey was formerly General Secretary of the public service trade union NIPSA and was appointed as a Human Rights Commissioner in 2011.